Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Elementary: Search & News for Kids

Welcome, students!  This page will help you find information in search tools, reference sources (encyclopedia, almanacs, dictionaries, atlases), and databases made just for you and licensed by our State Library. Here you will find information to support your school projects and your personal interests!

Remember to check with your school librarian who may have purchased even

more great search tools for your school!

JerseyClicks! Databases

JerseyClicks Databases
(FREE for New Jersey residents) 

Note: Some of these links may open automatically if you are located in New Jersey, others may require your library card for authentication. 

This interface of Explora is designed specifically for elementary school students according to their needs and search abilities. This interface is graphically rich and provides access to age-appropriate materials. Includes topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research and 60,000 top videos from the Associated Press.

AP Newsroom allows students to view the greatest events in world history with photographs, audio sound bites, video, and graphics, for over 185 years. 

NoveList Plus K-8 includes reading recommendations to help readers of all ages find just the right book. Includes expert recommendations, reviews, articles, lists and more.

Designed for elementary students, Primary Search is a full-text database of popular children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries, and a vast image collection. Coverage includes endangered species, famous musicians, fitness, and space exploration.

Designed for middle school students, Middle Search Plus features full-text magazines and reference books. Subjects include history, current events, science, and sports.  Features thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps and flags.

Does your school have MackinVIA?

MackinVIA

News for Kids